top of page
Writer's pictureDana Murtagh

How to make the perfect Thai Green Curry

Remember I told you I'd share my favourite Thai Green Curry recipe? You didn't think I lied you. So as promised, let's get into my beloved dinner!





The first time I had Thai Green Curry I fell completely in love, it instantly became my all-time favourite dish. I’m talking if I was on death row, this would be my final meal request. So, I guess you could say I take my Thai Green Curry cooking pretty seriously. Anyways, let’s get cooking!


Although this is a vegetarian Thai green curry, feel free to add in whatever you like. You can switch up the vegetables, add meat-based protein, just go with your personal preference. Yet, this curry includes broccoli, asparagus, carrots, chickpeas and more. It just screams flavour, doesn’t it?


During one of my trips to Bali, Indonesia I watched a chef prepare curry paste, and he really worked up a sweat! So, for now, we’re going to use a store-bought paste. But everything else is organic and delicious.



INGREDIENTS

· 1 cup of white basmati rice

· 1 can of coconut milk

· Kaffir lime leaves

· 2 teaspoons of olive oil

· Onion, diced

· 2 cloves of garlic, chopped

· Fresh ginger, peeled and chopped

· Pinch of salt

· 1 bunch of asparagus

· 3-4 carrots, peeling and chopped

· 2-3 tablespoons of Thai green curry paste

· 2 cups of spinach

· Handful of chopped chilis (optional)


METHOD

1. Heat the oil in a wok, over medium heat. Once heated add the onion, ginger, and garlic with a pinch of salt. Let simmer for about 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Then, add the asparagus and carrots and allow to cook for about 4-5 minutes, continue to stir often. Then add the Thai curry paste for an extra 2-3 minutes.

2. To cook the rice, add one cup rice two cups water. This makes sure you don’t cook too much. Bring the water to the boil while on a medium heat for 15-20 minutes. Then drain the rice and let rest for 5-7 minutes or until ready to serve.

3. Then, pour in the whole can of coconut milk into the wok, turn the hob to a medium to high heat for 5 minutes and the let simmer on a lower heat. Once the vegetables are cooked completely, add the spinach and cook until wilted. This should take about 1-2 minutes. Add the chilies or chili flakes if you wish.

4. Divide the rice and curry and serve.


How to Serve:

I serve on a plate (bowl works too), rice first and the pour the curry sauce on top. Feel free to add a wedge of lime or lime juice, they flavours really complement each other.


I hope you enjoyed this recipe; you won’t be disappointed I promise you! The perfect weekend meal which delivers on flavour with minimal effort, ENJOY!

Don’t forget to check out my Instagram for some mouth-watering photos to give you some more inspiration, I’d love to hear your thoughts and don’t forget to tag me! @the_foodfanatic_



Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page